past participles and sentence structure

forthnot

Registered
Reaction score
I just started learning about sentence structure, so I'm going to post a whole lot of questions about this stuff because it seriously confuses me.

First, in the sentence, "it is getting drunk" is that an intransitive verb phrase? or is that a gerund/participle? I am having a hard time identifying predicate adjectives/nouns, but I will have more questions about that later.

and secondly, is it correct to use the past participle form of drunk? and if so, why is that the case?

Curlz

cutsie-pie
Registered
Reaction score
What is "it"? Is it like in "the baby is getting drunk"? Or is it like "it is getting dark"?

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm slightly confused, or maybe overthinking. In your sentence It is getting drunk, is it a being that's consuming alcohol and feeling it? Or is it the response to What's the point of going to a bar? or a similar question?

If it's the first, the equivalent of Maryn is getting drunk (you buying?), then yes, it's the present progressive verb tense (is x-ing) of the transitive verb get, definition 2b (or not 2b?) here.

I have a mastery of some writerly things, and I'm pleased to say participles and gerunds are among them. (Just don't ask me about plotting, okay?)

A participle takes the a form of a verb and uses it as an adjective.

A present participle uses the -ing form of a verb as an adjective. (A gerund also uses -ing, hence the confusion.) Examples:

I inhaled the steaming soup’s aroma. The hiding child giggled. The writing students paused. The shouting preacher inspired his flock. She delivered a knowing wink.

A past participle uses the past tense form of a verb, many ending with -ed, as an adjective.