Introducing....me

Val S

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to Absolute Write after stumbling across it while searching for online critique groups. I am several drafts along on my YA fantasy novel and am getting to the point where I need another set (or more) of eyes to look at it. This is the first novel I've written; it's been a dream of mine for a very long time and I suppose the pandemic finally gave me the time and motivation to do it. (Learn to bake sourdough bread or write a novel.... hmm...)

I have worked as a writer/editor for many years, mainly creating magazines, newsletters, promo materials, etc for not-for-profit organizations. I have a pretty solid grip on grammar, but I promise I won't get overly uptight about comma usage in my critiques (misplaced modifiers are another thing entirely!). After all, breaking the rules is what makes creative writing.... well.... creative.

I enjoy reading many different genres, but usually I prefer books that are set in the past or in a fantasy world, and have an element of mystery or suspense.

I'm looking forward to digging deeper into the forums and discovering all the nuggets of writing wisdom!

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Alas, that makes me old at AbsoluteWrite--and in general--but it still serves me quite well for many writing and social purposes. The quality of the feedback, the knowledge about markets, grammar, agents, covers, genres, trade and self-publishing, and most of all people's willingness to guide, educate, help, commiserate, and everything else makes this first-rate writing site. (Man, that was a lot of commas. God help me, I love 'em.)

Plus there are places to talk other interests, from politics to cooking, movies to crafts. As you look around the various boards, once you're read the FAQs and Newbies Guide, you're likely to find a generous handful of places where you'll be among your kind.

I'm pleased to welcome you!