Conlang

Dead-Head-Ghost-2088

Registered
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I’m trying to do research on creating languages (whether for fiction or just for personal reasons). I’ve realized it’s genuinely very complicated. How does one creates their own Conlang?

Reactions: kittrick

dickson

Hairy on the inside
Registered
Reaction score
Most of us wouldn’t go to the extremes that Tolkein did. In my WIP novel, I took phrases and words from Mandarin (which I studied at one point in my life) and mangled the Pinyin enough to disguise the origin.

In Oddjobs, the five volume Lovecraftian apocalyptic farce by Goode and Grant, the insane gods known as the Venislarn have a language, of which many examples abound. After a while, the reader picks up on a few things. Mostly, obscene insults. I’m not sure how much of the rest has any meaning, but it looks pretty alien on the page.

Last edited:

Dead-Head-Ghost-2088

Registered
Reaction score
Most of us wouldn’t go to the extremes that Tolkein did. In my WIP novel, I took phrases and words from Mandarin (which I studied at one point in my life) and mangled the Pinyin enough to disguise the origin.

In Oddjobs, the five volume Lovecraftian apocalyptic farce by Goode and Grant, the insane gods known as the Venislarn have a language, of which many examples abound. After a while, the reader picks up on a few things. Mostly, obscene insults. I’m not sure how much of the rest has any meaning, but it looks pretty alien on the page.
That could definitely work. However, I thought about going the Tolkien route. Not going to be as comprehensive. But close enough.

Lundgren

Registered
Reaction score