Hi, I'm New

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mattpwriter

Registered
Reaction score
Hello, my name is Matt and I am new to AWWC. I'm pretty new to forum sites like this, so I'll probably have no idea what I'm doing early on.

I like to write sci-fi/fantasy-mostly contemporary-although I have dipped my toes into other genres. I like to put a lot of action and humor into my writing. As you can probably guess, I'm pretty "straight to the point" when talking about my own writing. Though, if I'm talking about someone else's work, I can go on a college essay level schpeel.

To give you an idea of what kind of personality I have, I think it's best expressed with my favorite movie line of all time:

"Lone Starr, there is something I must tell you."
"What?"
"I am your father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate."
"And what does that make us?"
"Absolutely nothing, which is what you are about to become."

Izz

Doing the Space Operatic
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.justgoodfiction.com
Hi Matt, and welcome to AW!

In my opinion, AW is the premier writing place on the nets. An amazing resource on all things writing and publishing, and with an active community of writers (from newbie to pro) and other industry pros. AW is a bit of a sprawling metropolis, so it can be easy to get lost when you're new (and especially when you're generally new to forums) but you'll find your hangout spots soon enough.

Don't be afraid to dive in and get your feet wet. You'll love it here, I'm sure.

See you around the boards :)
Izz

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Nice to meet you. Just so you know, there's probably a sticky and/or a FAQ (that's Frequently Asked Questions) for everything that you're unsure of or can't figure out. Take the time to read the ones this board's moderator will share in a welcome message in the next several hours. They'll help you get acclimated the fastest.