Who can do/what is technical writing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluejester12

I write and I wrong
Registered
Reaction score
I've recently moved and have been looking for a job in editing (so far to no avail). I have a BA in English and taken classes on editing, newswriting.

Do you need to know a lot if technology terms to do techinal writing (which I dont)? Do a significant numbner of jobs exist for writers w/o technical knowledge? Can we learn it after we're hired? Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Timinator

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.timothytrimble.com
It depends on what you're writing about. I do a lot of technical writing. But I'm also a programmer. And I try to do most of my writing on topics that I'm comfortable with. However, you could take a look at technical writing of User's Guides for software. Those are basically How To manuals.

A good place to start is to find a software Open Source project (sourceforge.org) and find one that appeals to you and could use some documentation. You'll be doing it for free but at least you'll get one under you belt and find out what it's like.

Tish Davidson

Registered
Reaction score
Technical writing in the medical field for medical devices requires a good gasp of medical terminology and some understanding of physiology and engineering.

Frumious B

Registered
Reaction score
..Tech writing is a fantastic career Bluejester12 and one that can pay really well. The advice from Timinator is good; if you are interested in software TW, find an open source project that you can contribute to (eg open office) so you can get some runs on the board.