Not open for further replies.

Regan Leigh

Insomniac Writer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.reganleigh.com
Hello. *curtsy*

First I want to introduce myself before asking a load of questions later. :)

I've written one adult para romance and one YA UF novel in the past year. Both are in edits. (I feel more comfortable writing YA because that's the age population I work with at my day job.)

However, deep down I'm a dark and twisty gal. No, really. :) I promise.

Anyway, I have this lit horror idea... but I've never tried writing a horror story before. This will be quite a different direction for me and I was wondering what pointers you might have. I already know my story inspiration and the direction I want the WIP plot to take, but while I'm editing my other books, I'd like to start learning more about writing horror.

Any links, books, or threads you can point me towards would be much appreciated. I'm especially interested in how plot arcs might differ in horror than in other genres.

Should I first attempt a short story or flash to see how those go?

(And by Lit Horror, I'm saying Lit because it will have a significant Literary bent and will probably be very character driven.)

Oh, my. This is long. *Slinks away and whispers, "Thanks!"*

EFCollins

World Class Rambler
Registered
Reaction score
Way out there in BFE, where no one can hear you sc
Website
efcollins.blogspot.com
Hi Regan. :)

First off, I'd suggest you read a couple of horror novels. And by "read" I don't mean sit and enjoy them. You can still enjoy them, but really pay attention to how things are set up. Look for the things that all horror has in common. Pay attention to how suspense is used to heighten fear, how a subtle, seemingly innocent phrase can later come back to bite your protag on the ass.

Fear is a wonderful and powerful emotion. Tapping into it, though, is pretty darn hard.