Starting Comic Book Writing - Need help knowing how to get it published

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tangobob5000

Registered
Reaction score
Hello!
i'm new to the comic book way of writing. i have been writing books since i was in fifth grade and have now gotten to read maus and ive decided that i'll try out comic book, or graphic novel, writing. im not very good at drawing, but i've decided that it would be very cool to set the story i have planned to a sort of henry darger-esque background. like, for instance, i could draw and paint the way he did, which was mainly by tracing and the result is really weird and cool (if anyone doesn't know who he was, the guy was nuts and wrote like a 15,000 page book that he never got published). the graphic novel's going to be about a guy in an asylum searching for the ideal man, much like in Nietzsche's Thus Spoke Zarathustra, and it is full of surrealism and strange fantasy elements about it and it also has a lot of zen buddhists themes processed through a sort of Celtic aesthetic - i think its really cool. i was wondering if someone could refer me to a publisher who would be willing to publish this sort of graphic novel or a literary agency that would send this graphic novel on to a publisher. or if i should give up on writing or drawing this sort of thing as a comic book. thanks!

Axler

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.markellisink.com
If you're really interested in whole process (complete with pictures), you should pick up this:

23559670.JPG

And if you're really, really interested, you could attend this--

http://storelocator.barnesandnoble.com/eventdetail.do;jsessionid=2E85FE77665FBCDCCE5F12063697C294.worker2?store=2160&event=22701849

Axler

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.markellisink.com
Hi, CB...the link isn't working for me either. It did yesterday.

But, yeah--