Editor gift following book deal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TrixieLox

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I know it's quite commonplace to get your agent a thank you gift when they secure a book deal for you. But is it the norm to get your new editor a gift too?

robjvargas

Rob J. Vargas
Banned
Reaction score
I don't know the norm. I'm not published, so I have no experience in that.

I know that in the financial services industry (my current employer) gifting someone who just agreed to pay you is considered a major conflict of interest violation. Seems too much like a tit-for-tat.

Even small gifts. That's a hard line to draw, so my employer simply says, "Don't".

DeleyanLee

Writing Anarchist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
My published friends tend to give gifts to their editors at Christmas time only (along with their agents--and whatever agent's staff they work with a lot). But at a contract signing? No, I haven't heard of that.

DanielaTorre

Registered
Reaction score
Would a box of cookies hurt??

Well, the way I see it, they're taking 10-15% of whatever you sell, so it's sort of quid pro quo. Give them a call or send them a wonderful email, and if it's really bothering you, get them a Starbucks Gift card. Book-type people like that.

Reaction score
Second star on the right and on 'til morning.
Website
atsiko.wordpress.com
I know it's quite commonplace to get your agent a thank you gift when they secure a book deal for you. But is it the norm to get your new editor a gift too?

Would a box of cookies hurt??

Well, the way I see it, they're taking 10-15% of whatever you sell, so it's sort of quid pro quo. Give them a call or send them a wonderful email, and if it's really bothering you, get them a Starbucks Gift card. Book-type people like that.

Yeah, I always assumed the 10-15% was the thank you for your agent.