Privately Obtained Security Clearance?

quixote100104

Registered
Reaction score
Greetings :),

I was recently reading a book about privatization in the US intelligence community and mention was made of the career value of a security clearance in certian civillian job fields. The reference was to people joining the military or other government agencies to gain a security clearance, then leveraging that into a better paying civillian job.

That got me wondering...is it possible to privately fund the nessesary investigations, etc. and gain a security clearance that way? Once upon a time I was a Criminal Justice student in college and I recall many fellow students financing thier own way though the police academy to make them more marketable.

Anybody know?

mdin

The late, the great XThe NavigatorX
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.mattdinniman.com
In the US, you have to be sponsored by a governmental agency or a cleared contractor to get any of the levels of security clearance. It's one of those can't get a job because I don't have experience/can't get experience because I don't have a job things. Once you're in and your clearance hasn't expired, your life becomes much, much easier to find a job in that industry.

Google DISCO and security clearance, and you'll find more information than you'll ever want to know.

Incidentally, in Arizona to get POST certified (to be a police officer), I'm pretty certain it's the same deal. You have to be sponsored by an agency. It must be different from state to state.

RJK

Sheriff Bullwinkle the Poet says:
Registered
Reaction score