Any tips for a complete re-write?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark T

Registered
Reaction score
I've written a novel (my first ever finished one) but the writing isn't as good as I thought it was or I'd like it to be. I think it might benefit from a complete re-write but I've never done this before and I've not really been writing that long. I'm not really much of a planner either and I don't want to miss out on details or bits I like if/when I re-write it. So, does anyone have any tips or are complete re-writes maybe not such a great idea? (The novel is 69k so it's not too long thankfully)

Maze Runner

Registered
Reaction score
I don't have a ton of advice, but I'd say that if you want to dare to re-imagine it, not only in terms of delivery but also story, now is the time to do it. One thing I've taught myself, even just in life, is to look at problems as opportunities. So every time you come across something that you don't like in your story, at that exact moment it becomes better. It's the ones we don't see that hurt us.

onesecondglance

pretending to be awake
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
soundcloud.com
I did a complete rewrite for my first novel.

My first step was to make a new outline. I'd worked from a very short one before and constructed an entirely new one for the rewrite. I dumped characters, condensed several POVs, cut entire plot lines and added new ones. The first draft was more like a nine-month brainstorm than an actual first draft.

Then I put the original document away. Started again with a new blank page. I didn't refer back to the original more than once or twice - even scenes I was "saving" were rewritten from scratch. That was easier than trying to shoehorn in bits from the old one that wouldn't fit without because of the volume of change.