Read Books By AWers!

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

editing for authors ad

A publisher or agency using Google ads to solicit your novel probably isn't anyone you want to write for.

Go Back   Absolute Write Water Cooler > Welcome to the Water Cooler > New Members
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-29-2013, 11:20 PM   #1
AshleyDarling
New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin

AshleyDarling is on a distinguished road
Hello!

Hello all! My name is Ashley and I'm from Arkansas. I have a bachelor's in history and a masters in teaching. I'm awaiting decisions on my creative writing MFA applications to four schools: University of Alabama, University of Mississippi, McNeese State University, and Oregon State University.

I have been writing for as long as I can remember. I used to write a lot of collaborative stories in online roleplaying games, but not so much anymore. Life has just gotten in the way.

I read a ton of books, mostly fantasy/sci-fi and YA, not necessarily in that order. Currently reading Changeling by Philippa Gregory, other recent reads include Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion and Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Other favorites include GRRM, Rowling, Hobb, etc.

Right now I have a couple of ideas in the works. One story is about Hook as an original Lost Boy and the events that led up to him becoming the dreaded Captain Hook. It currently sits at 34 pages (it's more of a short story currently. I could expand it, but I'm not sure I want to). The other story is focused on a trio of teenagers who are on the run from the government after being exposed to a virus that causes increased strength and stamina, and eventually turns them into werewolves. I feel like this might just be a mix of things I've read before, so yeah. There's that.

Just wanted to stop by and say hello! I'm looking forward to being part of this community.

Last edited by AshleyDarling; 01-29-2013 at 11:44 PM.