Read Books By AWers!

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

editing for authors ad

A publisher or agency using Google ads to solicit your novel probably isn't anyone you want to write for.

Go Back   Absolute Write Water Cooler > Publishing > Ask the Agent
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 12-13-2012, 03:42 AM   #1
Whistle_White
Young folk

Whistle_White is on a distinguished road
Good Manners & Querying Several Agents

Hey everyone,

Now, I'm not an absolute newbie; I know I can query several agents at once as long as the query/cover letters are personalized and I don't send copy&paste one to 9677 agents on the same day.

But I have this problem: while getting my MA I met a pro author who took a look at my writing, helped me fix some stuff and then introduced me to an agent. Face to face! I was far from finished with my novel, but Mr. Agent took a look and requested the full manuscript as soon as I had it.

Now I have it, written-rewritted-beta'ed, and have sent it to Mr. Agent as requested. But I don't want to count my laurels before they hatch: he requested the full, doesn't mean he'll take me on.

So question: would it be in good manners to query other agents even if Mr. Agent was nice enough to meet me in person and request the full even when I only had three chapters?
Whistle_White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:04 AM   #2
NicolaD
This will all make sense tomorrow

NicolaD is on a distinguished road
If Mr Agent didn't hold you to an exclusive, I'd say go for it. He could take 3-6 months or longer to get back to you - do you want to put your life on hold? Is Mr Agent your dream agent or right up there? Does he have plenty of sales in your genre?