Read Books By AWers!

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

editing for authors ad

A publisher or agency using Google ads to solicit your novel probably isn't anyone you want to write for.

Go Back   Absolute Write Water Cooler > Welcome to the Water Cooler > New Members
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 12-01-2012, 01:49 PM   #1
3Dynamic
New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin

3Dynamic is on a distinguished road
Another newbie

Well hello...

I am new to all of this and just wanted to now formally say hello.

As a technical writer, I have never had a problem. We (my collaborator and I) have just signed with a major textbook publisher for a fairly large advance on a new textbook.

But I have a hobby in writing fiction. A few of my essays have appeared in newspapers - family humor kind of stuff.

At the late age of 42 I became a father. And I wrote a novel for my young daughter. It was kind of like Harry Potter, but it used science, not magic to drive the fantasy. And it was for girls. And it failed. But it failed an ugly death with me in denial for about five years. Finally I realized the plot was deficient. And I really wrote it for my daughter.

Then my son was born. And for a few years I worried that I did not have a story for him. But I did. Oh boy, did I.

I am one of the very unfortunate men who did not realize how good a man his own father was until it was too late. (When my father was dying, he called me from NY to California, and apologized. But I was too arrogant to return the apology, too. It is my scar.)

So, I began to sketch a story for my son. It was modeled on my relationship with my own father. The sketch has been in my head for years.

I am now on sabbatical in Norway. And in between my many jobs (teaching on line from here to US, research project, textbook), I spent two hours a day, for six months, to knock off this fiction.