Read Books By AWers!

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

editing for authors ad

A publisher or agency using Google ads to solicit your novel probably isn't anyone you want to write for.

Go Back   Absolute Write Water Cooler > Freelance & Work for Hire > Freelance Writing
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-22-2011, 12:50 AM   #1
RedStringSoul
Chaos Wrangler

RedStringSoul is on a distinguished road
Query email subject?

Forgive me but I'm a complete newbie at sending actual queries. (Trying to get out of the content mill treadmill!) When sending a query to a publication via email contact form (or email in general) what should I use as the subject of the email? Should I put "Writer Query" and my article title pitch? Any suggestions would be helpful!
Old 02-22-2011, 07:00 AM   #2
GregS
practical experience, FTW

GregS is on a distinguished road
Standard subject is simply "Query: Title of Project."

Some agents/publishers have slight variations of this based on their spam and internal filters, but they're all basically the same. Check with your specific target before firing the email off, but if you can't find anything different go with that.

That format also gives you a very simple way to set up filters in your email program to ensure none of your responses get sent to your spam.

GregS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:37 AM   #3
WildScribe
Slave to the Wordcount