PDA

View Full Version : Comparing Your Work With Other Authors in a Query?


Elaine Margarett
02-11-2008, 08:10 PM
Helpful? Or presumptuous?

I've heard some agents say they like to see in a query how a writer would compare their ms to what's out in the market. But I'm not sure I'm comfortable with this. Couldn't it be a turn off?

Would it be better to list certain authors as an influence?

Thanks!
EM

dragonjax
02-11-2008, 09:46 PM
Remember, you're showing that your work is marketable. You're not saying "This is a guaranteed bestseller" when you say "[Your novel title] will appeal to fans of [bestselling author 1] and [bestselling author 2]." You're saying that you're confident there's a market for your book. This isn't presumptuous. It's business sense.

Erin
02-11-2008, 10:16 PM
Dragonjax is correct from what I hear also. The best way to phrase this is to say "your book will appeal to fans of Author A and Author B" rather than say "I write like Bestselling Author" or "my Book's similar in style to Bestselling Author Book Title."

I'd never want to compare my writing or my book to someone else! but I have no problem telling the agent where my market's at.