Scout: Colleges, High Schools, Sports Writers, Scouts, etc.

TrainofThought

A flowering bud of bitchiness
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
6,179
Reaction score
6,835
Location
Land of Bier
Website
www.authordenisebaer.com
Has anyone heard of this company, Scout? I received an email from them for an Assistant Technical Manager opening, but I can’t find their location or information about their reputation. I thought I would ask before filling out the employment application. Thanks in advance. :D
 

TrainofThought

A flowering bud of bitchiness
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
6,179
Reaction score
6,835
Location
Land of Bier
Website
www.authordenisebaer.com
How did they find you, Train? Did you contact them first, or was their email unsolicited?
I have my resume on CareerBuilder and Monster, which I forgot about until I received their email. The email mentions they looked over my resume and I fit the qualifications for Tehnical Manager. It's not that I plan on taking the job, but one can always use the practice of interviewing. I've been with my company for almost 10 years, although I don't think I can last another 10.
 

Silver King

Megalops Erectus
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
12,438
Reaction score
8,934
Location
Florida (West Central)
I can't find a FAQ or About Us section on the web site. It would be nice to know where their offices are located, who or what owns the operation, etc.

I did come across this site, but I can't tell whether the company you are applying with is part of this group or not. What do you think?
 

TrainofThought

A flowering bud of bitchiness
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
6,179
Reaction score
6,835
Location
Land of Bier
Website
www.authordenisebaer.com
I couldn’t find their location either. I don’t like web sites that don’t list office locations and there is no ‘About Us,’ which many web sites have.

When I did a search I got the Scout.com site also, but I don’t think they are affiliated. The one that contacted me is www.scout2007.net, which scouts high schools and colleges. I appreciate your help, SK. I’m starting to think this isn’t a reputable place to work.
 

Silver King

Megalops Erectus
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
12,438
Reaction score
8,934
Location
Florida (West Central)
Maybe you could fill out the application for the heck of it and see if you can find out more info about the company when they respond. If you do, don't forget to use me as a reference! :)