PDA

View Full Version : Stage 2, The Query Letter

Shadow_Ferret
08-28-2006, 04:26 PM
OK. I think I'm at the point where I want to start at least researching, and starting a rough draft, for my query letter for my novel.

Are there any decent websites or books out there that can teach me how to write a query letter? I've never written one before (short stories don't require them so much) and haven't the foggiest idea of what it's supposed to contain or do.

If there's hundreds of threads on this already, sorry, just point me to those threads and I'll be on my way. (For instance, I'm sure the Uncle Jim thread has something, but what page?)

Thanks.

Perks
08-28-2006, 04:35 PM
Hey you. I know you'll disagree, so let's just get that out of the way right now.

But I do have some experience with this. If you research queries on the web, you are going to get so much contradictory information, it'll make your head explode. There is a good series of threads about this on the FAQ board (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30725).

The hardest part is getting a short (I mean really short - like a few sentences short) synopsis of your plot that feels complete and builds curiosity at the same time. At first, I'd focus on that. The rest is just a business letter - very easy. And, of course, each agent or editor has their own requirements for what they want in a query.

Go ahead - let me have it. I know you don't believe me.

Thomma Lyn
08-28-2006, 04:48 PM
Here's a thread on the AW Share Your Work Forum:

Query Letter Resources (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21248)

Lots of great info here. You'll be asked for a password to the Share Your Work forum when you click on the link: it's vista.

ChaosTitan
08-28-2006, 07:21 PM
It also wouldn't hurt to read a handful of the query letters others have posted for critique. See what others have done, and how they've done it better after a little spit and polish.

MidnightMuse
08-28-2006, 07:57 PM