PDA

View Full Version : Buying your own story

Chazemataz
08-28-2011, 06:58 AM
I was sort of nervous to ask this question, as it seems like an ethical dilemma in and of itself, but...

Okay. Say I wrote a book that I've been querying for two years but can't find an agent. Fed up, I decided to become an e-publisher. I upload my novel onto Smashwords (for example) and there it sits, totally unknown in the middle of a sea of other unknown e-novels.

What's stopping me from say, buying my own e-novel fifty times to push up sales rankings and hopefully attract more attention? This seems like a good idea, even if it does sound like cheating. Does anyone do this? Is it a big taboo in the e-publishing realm?

I'm honestly asking out of curiosity. I have no current plans to e-publish but I am wondering if this would be a possibility to get your e-novel to stand out since there are so many of them.

Kathleen_
08-28-2011, 07:07 AM
Could you do it? probably. Should you? I wouldn't. I have no idea if people do it but because at least one person has thought about it, there are probably many people doing it. Is it honest? I think the fact you have to ask is telling.
To me this is akin to writing positive reviews pretending to be a reader. Not as bad, but in the same vein.

I think there are far better (and more honest and positive) ways for an author to get their ebook to stand out.

Deirdre
08-28-2011, 11:00 AM
People have been buying attention for millenia (at least), but is that really what you want? Only to have attention you've bought?

mima
08-28-2011, 07:33 PM
hi Chaze,

yes. you can do that, and it isn't unethical for an author to buy tons of copies of a book (i just bought 10 copies of my book at my last signing to do giveaways), it's just not going to work. smash's rankings are such you'd have to buy bulk on a grand scale to get any more attention than any other book. why? because people sell hundreds of copies of a single ebook title A DAY when they are successful.