Industry Standard Discounts

AugustYellow

Autumn Bound
Registered
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to the industry and am trying to get my books, published by a small company, into mom and pop, Borders and B&N bookstores.

Before contacting these bookstores, I wanted to ask, what are the industry standard discounts publishers offer to bookstore? Also, what is the standard discount bookstores receive from distributors like Ingram? I want my offered discount to at least match Ingram's.

Thanks!

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.strokingthepen.com
Welcome August Yellow!

When you say small company, do you mean they are published by an independent publisher or they are self published?

I don't know the answer to your question, except to say that most bookstores do not stock self-published books. I see lots of self published books online at Amazon, though.

Have you contacted the different bookstores to ask about their discount standards?

AugustYellow

Autumn Bound
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Susan,

Thank you for your response!
The publishing company isn't a self published or POD. It's just a small publishing company.

I've spoken with a number of bookstore managers and associates, but they are pretty secretive when it comes to their discounts with major distributors.

Ingram receives a 55% discount from the publishing company, so I'm guessing Ingram must keep at least ten percent?

Any additional insight?

Jennifer_Laughran

knows what she's looking for when she finds it!
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.andreabrownlit.com
Every bookstore will have their own deal, depending on how much they buy, if it is returnable, etc. Ingram would probably be 40-45% regular discount - direct from publishers 45-50%

Anything less than 40%, and a bookstore would consider it short-discount and for special order only.