• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

[Editing] October Publishing

Wendy Croom

Hello: I am a Newbie and have enjoyed the newsletter and roaming through the forums. This is my first post. I have two manuscripts completed - a 60,000 word novel-in-stories and a 59,000 word mystery novel - that I am hoping to get published. I took a short class offered through NC University at Charlotte (UNCC) on book publishing, facilitated by a local writer. He provided bios of folks he knew that perhaps could be of help to new writers, among them the bio for a "book packager" operating under the name of October Press. Editing is one of the services provided by October Press, according to the bio and the web site. The individual who founded October Press wrote in the Q&A portion of the bio that "it is well worth being patient and trying to get published by traditional methods before exploring alternative methods" and recommended getting a third party critique. After reading everything I could find about October Press' founder on line, I contacted her by e-mail and supplied a writing sample from my novel-in-stories, the ms I planned to submit to her. I told her my goal was to find a small independent publisher and that I was not interested in self-publishing. She agreed to take on the editing assignment for $600, with half due up front. My check for $300 was cashed three days after I mailed it. Three months later, I contacted her (again by e-mail) for a status, and she advised she would be sending the completed "critique" with 7-10 days. A month more went by, and I followed up again. After no word, I continued to follow up by e-mail and then began leaving telephone messages. I finally contacted the local writer who had introduced me to October Publishing, to see if he knew of some problem the individual was facing. He was successful in contacting her, and she e-mailed me that her computer had crashed and she had not received my e-mails. (She gave no reason for not