Questions on Outlines?

ChrisF

First, really great and informative site. I'm very glad I came across it and I'm hoping to become more of a contributor as I gain experience (hopefully I will be sharing insights into what worked rather than building a library of what hasn't but time will tell).

I'm a first time author with a completed and what I believe to be well worked over novel in the fiction/suspense genre.

Several agents seem to be requesting outlines in addition to other materials. The outlines I'm familiar with are from a writer's perspective and likely a lot longer and more detailed than what they are looking for (as compared to the length of a typical synopsis).

If anyone can pass along some insight into what exactly I should be submitting I'd be very grateful. Maybe 3-6 pages with a few bullets under each chapter? Maybe a short summary for each chapter? Is there an example anywhere on the web?

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Chris

Daughter of Faulkner

Always a writer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
mysite.verizon.net
"Be concise"

Be brief, be known, and be gone!

What I was asked for was something in the way of a paragraph from each chapter. Leave out all fillers--extra words--and go straight to the point. An agent then an in-house editor will only spend 60 seconds or less on your first page and if you don't grab him at once then you do not get a second chance.
Your outline should tell the reader if he wants to read more and exactly what your novel is about. No opinions, things you think are cute rather go straight to the point as if you were getting a grade on it from an instructor. Remember you want an A+.

I would do it like this:
Bold Chapter 1, then Bold title, then beneath it a paragraph or two about that chapter then d/s before the next. Of course, you need your header with your name, and an outline with book title, page number on every page. Absolutely no typos!