I've hit a bump in the road.

RylenolFlu

Registered
Reaction score
I am a recent graduate from the University of Miami (FL) where I majored in motion pictures and religious studies. Now I'm done with college and I'm clueless. For the past few years I've taken some screenwriting courses at school and have thought that it was such an interesting medium to write in. But now that I am out of school and the realities of the working world are hitting me pretty hard. I don't really want to venture out to L.A. just yet but I do enjoy writing. My problem, I am incredibly lazy and don't have discipline when it comes to writing. I am plagued with the mindset where I get a great idea, and least I think it is, and then it just kind of fizzles into oblivion. I'm also afraid of failure which doesn't help. Just lately I have been watching films, a few that stick out are Good Will Hunting and the Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, those are two films that I would kill to be able to say "I wrote that". I'm sorry for ranting on and on but I figured that this screenwriting forum was the one place I could go to talk about an issue related to screenwriting. Is this dream I have realistic? Can I actually make a living writing screenplays? I guess I am searching for some type of motivation. Anyway, thanks for listening, semper fi.

zagoraz

Registered
Reaction score