100% rejections for non-fiction book, but not sure why! How do I get answers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nancyadams

Registered
Reaction score
I'm curious. I have a strong platform via a website with an international reach and wide interest. I'm not a professional writer, but have writing skills. I've reworked my query four times to what I think is very good. I've had 6 bites. Yet, my score is 100 to 0....in favor of the rejections. And I have no idea why!! I've asked--no response.

How does a person find out? I ponder: Is it because there are already books out on the subject? Are my writing skills not up to par? Do they think there's not a large enough market (even though there is and I present statistics)?

:Shrug:How do I find out why I keep getting rejections?

Nancy

JoNightshade

has finally arrived
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ramseyhootman.com
Nancy, what's your website traffic like? I'm wondering if you might be quoting a number that sounds big to you but just isn't big enough that it would be significant to agents.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
If the email rejections were vague you might try a follow up just asking for some expert hints on what you could improve.

K1P1

Procrastination is its own reward
Registered
Reaction score
Have you gotten someone knowledgeable, that you trust, to review and critique your query letter? Or posted it in Share Your Work for comments?

nancyadams

Registered
Reaction score
Nancy, what's your website traffic like? I'm wondering if you might be quoting a number that sounds big to you but just isn't big enough that it would be significant to agents.