Writers' Conferences, What do you think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob B

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a newbie and I posted this in the newbie section and I hope it's okay to post it here at the same time.

I'm trying to get some info on writers' conferences in general: recommendations, negative experiences, worth the money and time, etc. Also, if anyone has knowledge of any conference(s) that are
geared toward the suspense/thriller genre, I would greatly appreciate hearing. Thanks. Rob B
user_online.gif
vbrep_register("1169203")
progress.gif

Linda Adams

Soldier, Storyteller
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.linda-adams.com
I'm going to two this year and have been to three others. In truth, I really haven't had a negative experience. But I also researched them online first to see if they would even be a good fit. Some conferences have agents and publishers and name authors attending them. Others are done by colleges, with the focus on learning the craft, rather than selling it (those always seem to have writers I've never even heard of).

You do have to keep your expectations in line when you go, though. I think a lot of people go just because they think magic will happen, and they'll get their foot in the door. The problem is that your story still needs to be able to stand up for itself. If it doesn't, meeting the agent isn't going to make any difference from sending them a query letter. But meeting the agents does give you a chance to see their real people, see how they work, and with some conferences, actually talk to them.

There are two thriller oriented conferences this year. One is the International Thriller Writer's conference in New York: http://www.thrillerwriters.org That one is very expensive.

The other is one that will likely have a thriller emphasis, and that's the Backspace conference. http://bksp.org/

Some more conferences are listed over the Mystery/Suspense/Thriller board.

weatherfield

Registered
Reaction score