Writing Tips for Tech Support Email?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Constance Sorrow

Howdy --

I'm a newbie in this forum, a lapsed tech writer who just landed a job writing instruction modules for a computer-based coaching system. The basic task is to improve users' writing skills. The module that has me scratching my head is "Writing Tech Support Email." I assume that I should teach good business writing, good netiquette, and good basic tech writing -- but I feel that I might be overlooking something specific to tech support.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Google's not much help, but maybe I'm searching the wrong terms. Care to share tips, opinions, horror stories? (Please, no stoopid user stories -- though if you want to read some, I offer http://www.rinkworks.com/stupid/cs_email.shtml for your enjoyment.)

Cheers,
Constance

dahmnait

Just a figment…
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
When you figure it out, will you let me know?
As someone who has received support emails in the past, I always appreciated not having to track down the answers to questions such as:

What, if any, error messages did the user receive?
What programs did the user have open when the problem occurred?
What operating system is the user running?
What was the user doing right before the problem occurred?
Has this error/problem happened before?

Getting this kind of information up front saves time and allows support personnel to handle the problem quicker. There are a few more basic information items that escape me at the moment. When I think of them, I will add them to my list.

I hope this helps. Good luck and welcome to the forum.

------------------

ETA: I just reread your post. I am not sure if the information you are writing is for the end-user or the support personnel. The above may not be as useful in a guide to the support team as it would be to an end-user.

Last edited:

Constance Sorrow