teaching an old dog music theory

A. Hamilton

here for a minute...catch me?
Kind Benefactor
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
I have some musical background, having played the violin in school for ten years growing up. Unfortunately my teachers were negligent when it came to theory. I did begin a basic theory course when I was about 14, but funding was dropped and so was the class. I can read music and have to have written music in order to play. ( I do still play some, and tinkle on the piano.)
My husband is one who just 'gets' music. He can pick up any instrument and after a brief exploration, he can play it relatively well. He does not need to read music to play it. He can hear a song and work it out quickly on an instrument. I don't let him near my violin- he shows me up! :D
Anyway, a few years ago, he decided to learn theory from the books side and I tried to join him. I remembered loving that aspect of music when I was exposed as a teen. But now (because I'm older??? gasp!), I find it much harder to learn for some reason. SO difficult for me that I gave up. He also tried just teaching me verbally (and hands on) what he knew about chords and such. But he overwhelmed me. He knows so much and it seems to come naturally for him, and it's hard to start at the beginning I think (is there one??) He wants to show me the whole picture all at once.
But I'd love to find a simpler approach and try again. I'd love to be able to 'jam' on my fiddle with friends, to pop in and play a harmony or two. To work out a tune I heard, and better yet, some of the tunes that I've created in my head.
What techniques have others here used to learn theory?

moblues

Banned
Reaction score
Yes. There are easier ways of learning theory. The CAGED method is the best springboard.

How much do you as an artist need?

My studies into the Berkley Method took two years. I was lucky in the fact that I loved the idiom. It helped.

Mike

mooncars

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score