Need help determining hourly rate

Status
Not open for further replies.

willwrite4food

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.FinishedPages.com
Hi everyone! I have an opportunity to do some freelance PR and copywriting work for an agency in Winston-Salem, NC. I want to charge them on an hourly basis, rather than per project, but am not sure what rate to quote them. The 2005 copy of the Writer's Market that I have lists the following:

Press Releases:
high - $125/hr
low - $40
avg -$74

Advertising copywriting:
high - $150
low - $43
avg - $83

I have at least five years experience in the industry. I'm thinking about quoting them the average rates and see what they say, even though they seem kind of high to me. I just don't want to seem like an amateur though and quote too low! Any thoughts?

KCH

Registered
Reaction score
If it's an agency, they expect rates to reflect a certain level of stature and professionalism. Otherwise, why would they hire you? If you have what they need, they'll pay your rate. Don't sell yourself short. If it would put them over budget with the client, they'll tell you and suggest another figure. Don't anticipate resistance. They're not going to think badly of you or walk away without a word.

Good luck!

limitedtimeauthor

Super duper user
Registered
Reaction score
Is your experience as an employee? If so, that could be why the "average" rates seem high to you.

Could you guesstimate an hourly rate by using an example project (for instance, writing a press release for $250, and divide by the time it would take you to write one? For example, $250 divided by 3 hours = 83.33 per hour.)