KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com
Come on. It was inevitable.

What are some of the stupid things you have heard fellow writers say? Please...name no names if you are referring to writers at AW. Writers, at least in my opinion, talk themselves into ever widening and narrowing circles when it comes to rejection, acceptance, and every other writing related issue. I think creativity is linked closely to our ability to value ourselves. ie...our self esteem, etc.

What overly negative or overly positive stupid thing have you heard writers saying? What absolutely wrong or bad advice have you heard writers give?

Let's not make this a freeforall...I mean this thread with the best of intentions.

Tiger

AKA: "Gums of Steel"
Registered
Reaction score
"Fear not! I'm a writer"

Bubastes

bananaed
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gracewen.com
"I have a book published by Publish America, so I have lots of writing advice to share with you wannabes."

As far as stupid stuff I've said myself? Boy, where do I start? I love the taste of shoe leather.

Last edited:

TrainofThought

A flowering bud of bitchiness
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.authordenisebaer.com
:roll:

I need to put on my boxing gloves to answer this post. Instead, I will refrain from responding since I respect too many on this forum.

And yes, this is a stupid thing a writer says, they post without answering the thread.

Reaction score
"I'm waiting for inspiration to strike. I have chores to do first."

*sigh* When will I learn you don't wait for the muse to visit? You go out to the street and drag her in, screaming, by the hair and chain her to the workstation.

And yes, mine has a name. I even know what she looks like.

Sassenach

5 W's & an H
Registered
Reaction score
I get very tired of the dramatic, hyper-romanticized "I have to write...it's like breathing to me" comments.

WildScribe

Slave to the Wordcount