Hello from the Runoffs

Status
Not open for further replies.

runoffscribe

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
Good morning, all.

I don't know the first thing about myself. I'll toss out a few items, and leave order to the ordinal mind.

I am a veteran of the peacetime Air Force, post-Viet Nam. It was my way out of a poke-and-plumb desert town. "Poke-and-plumb" was my grandad's term -- poke your head out the window and you're plumb out of town. That's been around so long it shows more chin than forehead.

About the Air Force. It is said that the military will make a man out of a boy. This is untrue. Service will offer the opportunity. I come away with a story or two.

I am of a technical bent. I put in some twenty-odd years working on slot machines, and some few-odd months on computers. I passed the A+ and built a pretty good head of steam toward Cisco certification.

Then my heart went, and I almost drowned standing on dry land. It was a memorable sensation, leaning against my truck in the cool drouth of a desert night, uttering, "glug, glug" from deep in my chest. For years hence, the memory will suffice.

I may be the Guinness Book leader for Years Unpublished. Since that category is not published, I can let the years go unnumbered. Soon enough, it'll be +1.

I like to play with the language. I love the pith of lyrics, the discipline of a story told in sixteen lines. I'll wade in swamp water to collect a lily of a synonym. I always aspire to alliteration. I strive daily to arouse a wonderful obstruction to the mind of Google, et al.

Here goes.

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Nice intro. I feel like I kind of know you already. Welcome!

Although there are plenty of writers here who might give you a run for your money on number of years unpublished. It is, of course, not the only valid reason to write.

Maryn, who writes for herself a lot

runoffscribe

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
Hi, Maryn,