New Member, Aspiring Writer

Pendora

Registered
Reaction score
Hi All,

After five minutes of staring at the wall to think of something witty to write, I have now given up to just bulldoze through it. As you can see, my name is Pendora, but for some unknown reason my mother refuses to call me that. Professionally, I am a Business Analyst, but I aspire to become a full-time writer in the future. I have been writing since I was a four y.o. child, my first poem dedicated to an 'apple' and second to my old 'refrigerator', testimony to my love for food. There are many short stories, articles, and poems that I have written over the course of my life, and they can be found on my blog.(I wasn't sure about the policies for posting personal blog links here, so erring on the side of caution, I am choosing not to.)

As far as reading goes, I prefer SFF, Biographies, Fiction, Non-Fiction, History and Comics. I recently finished re-reading Mistborn trilogy by Sanderson and am currently reading India : A History by John Keay.

I have a lot of ideas about the books that I want to write, from fantasy fiction genre to magical realism and children's books. But the problem I am facing is organisation. My ideas are all jumbled, my outlines turn out to be very choppy to the point that they stop making any coherent sense, and when I do start writing, I go back and edit a lot. This is my first attempt at writing anything exceeding 20k words and at times, I'll be honest, I feel like quitting. I have started using Scrivener and things are looking slightly better, but I'd still appreciate any suggestions thrown my way of how you overcame these struggles, if you faced them.

I was daunted to write this post after reading multiple threads by new people here, as many have finished their first drafts, or have published books, while I have only some short stories and many unfinished projects under my belt. That said, I am still pretty excited to be here. :)

TylerJK

Registered
Reaction score