• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

How to plot 50 to 60k word novel with three act structure?

BizMindedWriter

Registered
Reaction score
Hello all,

BizMindedWriter here.

I am an aspiring scifi writer. I have great scenes and great dialogue, but I don't know how to use the three act structure to span 50k words. (Outline)

I know some use beat sheet like in Save The Cat, but that doesn't seem to work for me.

I am also a huge fan of Dan Harmon's story circle(which I divide the 4 quadrants into 4 acts) but the same problem arises; I can't seem to get a number of quality scenes that progress the story toward a solid climax.

How does one come up with a progressive chain of events (scenes)that lead to a reader satisfying climax?

Any techniques or methods would be appreciated.

InkFinger

Registered
Reaction score
To what extent are you asking for guidance? Every scene has predecessors and outcomes, so you could use the one scene concept of designing the immediately preceding scenes and the immediately following scenes for all the scenes you know. Continue the process until the scenes you know are connected. Each of characters will have a NOCR (needs/wants, obstacles, climax, and resolutions) for each scene and for the overall story arch, with emphasis on your protagonist and antagonist. This topic comes up regularly, so what specific aspect are you looking for help with?

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
TBH I think the best things you can do are

a) read a lot in your genre, so you can get an instinctive sense of story shape; and
b) practice. Just write a lot of stuff, read it, revise it, figure out how to make it "feel" right.

There are plenty of books on writing out there, but there's no substitute for actually steeping yourself in storytelling.

Helix

socially distancing
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website