Freelancer Turned Creative Writer

UntoldStoryteller

Registered
Reaction score
Hello gang,

My name's Whitney. I've been reading as long as I can remember and have always loved writing. In college, I majored in English Literature, but never took any creative writing courses. After getting my MBA, it seemed inevitable that I would end up in the corporate world. While I do love my job, the longer I'm away from academia, the more I miss writing. About five years ago, I started freelance writing for brands and as a ghost writer for corporate companies. I thought that would be a good way to satisfy the writing itch, but I feel like I can't write another original word about digital marketing and thought leadership. It's time to tell my own stories.

My first attempt at a novel is a technology-based psychological thriller. Think: rising tech executive grapples with how technology can be used against us as the relationship with her mentor teeters between career consultant and stalker. But, there are a few other ideas lurking around my brain, too just waiting to come out and play. I'm excited to learn, share, and grow with ya'll. I love to read great fantasy books (Neil Gaiman, Lev Grossman, J.K of course), historic fiction (Geraldine Brooks, Anita Diamant, etc.), and a healthy dose of non-fiction/memories. Yes, I guess you might say I like it all. Because picking a favorite book is too difficult, I'll simply leave you with the last book I read: Rodham by Curtis Sittenfeld. It tells the story of what Hillary Clinton's life might have been like if she hadn't married Bill.

... any good book recs for me?? :)

Feel free to drop a line or share any tips and tricks for a COMPLETE newbie. Hope to see you all soon.

With gratitude,
W

Chase

It Takes All of Us to End Racism
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:, Whitney. Nice intro. You've got better than average tools in your writer's box. Now, you need to tell your untold stories. :greenie

regdog

The Scavengers