• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

I responded to a query rejection. Did I make a mistake?

musicblind

May Cause Damage
Registered
Reaction score
Hey. I got rejected by an agent I greatly admire. Just getting that simple rejection from her was an honor. I'm a legit fan of many members of the publishing community, and I fanboyed over the rejection letter lol.

I wrote her a thank you note within an hour of getting the rejection because I was so excited to hear from her.

But now, I'm worrying I made a fatal mistake. This is what I sent:

I'm new to querying, so I hope I'm not breaking protocol.

I just felt compelled to say thank you for this sweet, straight forward rejection. Little things like this mean the world. Thank you for caring about writers, and thank you for caring about the LGBTQIA+ community. I've admired your career from afar, and you're such a good person. Your clients are lucky to have you!

Again, thank you,

After I sent it, my Mom said, "She probably gets annoyed by thousands of thank you notes, and now, she's going to put you on a ban list."

To the people who know this business far better than I do: Did I make a mistake?

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
She won't ban you. But don't make a habit of it, even though it seems like a nice thing to do. Their inboxes really don't need the extraneous mail.

This. You'll have to work a lot harder to get on the ban list ;)

Since you've asked that question though, I'll give an extra piece of advice for the future. The Author's Big Mistake is responding to bad reviews. Don't ever do that - it never ends well. (Get your mum to remind you of that, when the time comes ;) )

musicblind

May Cause Damage
Registered
Reaction score
Thank you for this. I don't know what I was thinking.

I won't send anymore thank yous.