Changing my fantasy ms into space opera

Emissarius

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,

My YA WIP is currently undergoing a rapid shift from high fantasy to light sci-fi. Somewhere along the way it just kept screaming "space opera!" at me, so I ditched the fantasy genre, which I've been writing in for the past six years. Since I'm nowhere near as experienced in sci-fi, I'm having some problems "transposing" the story's map from a fantasy realm to outer space. My original fantasy setting consisted of four continents, each with 3-5 kingdoms. For the space opera makeover, these continents became star systems, each with 3-5 planets. I plan for the four star systems to have no prior contact with one another. Each system is governed by a monarchy that rules all the planets within that system. Most space opera books I've come across feature some sort of Federation or/and interplanetary alliance and especially, an Empire. Would it be too unconventional for mine to be completely devoid of words like "Alliance" and "Empire?" and "Federation?"

Also, will I need to employ "sectors," "quadrants," and FTL travel if it's only going to be four star systems within a single galaxy rather than multiple galaxies?

Last edited:

Kjbartolotta

Potentially has/is dog
Registered
Reaction score
I like Federations enough to be a fully-paid member of Starfleet, but no, you don't need any of that noise. I've seen plenty of YA science-fantasy using space kingdoms and the like, I expect readers will want some good SF crunch but that doesn't mean it needs to be utilitarian and techno-rationalist.

Emissarius

Registered
Reaction score
Most science fantasy I've come across are classics (Rocannon's World, Darkover Landfall, Lilith: a Snake in the Grass). The only recent example I can think of where there's wizardry in space is Once & Future, a space opera Arthurian retelling. I haven't read that book yet, it feels more of a parody than a solid work. Can you name some titles?

PyriteFool

Registered