Color, Manipulation, and Readers (Something About Epubs)

Shirokirie

*Leers at you awkwardly*
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings. I'm an experimental writer ─ gotta preface with this just so you might get where my sadistic ecstasy comes from (yes, you've my permission to leave if you've read this far and feel you need to. lol).

I was mucking around in Sigil, doing the tedious Pass the Validator work in the manifest and style sheets, etc, when it just so happened to slap me that it is entirely possible to muck up the page and text until it's beyond recognition. As much as I enjoy doing things the right way, it's also first nature to do it ass-backwardsly wrong (hence 'experimental.' I just can't get it right).

So, I wanted to open the door to some opinions:

If you came across a book that featured a black page, with the text being primarily white, though colored where relevant (per story needs), would you be put off by it?

Would a standard white page, mainly black text, and colored-as-needed sections work better for you?

Is this one of those things that shouldn't be touched at all?

(optional) Should it be spelled Nuggit, Nuggyt, or Nuggot?

I appreciate your thoughts. :D

Thank you.

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
What you're talking about, I think, is more a multimedia work than a straight work of prose. And with that in mind? It would really depend on why it was being done and how it fit with that part of the work. If there was a reason for a particular page to be white-on-black, I'd roll with it. If not? It'd probably annoy me, at least after a while.

TL;DR: It's all in the execution. I wouldn't automatically reject something for it.

(You are locking yourself out of ebooks, pretty much, but that may not be a concern.)

ETA: So much for my reading comprehension! In an ebook? Nope. I won't buy an ebook with fixed formatting, and that includes color.

Last edited: