"How do you go about publishing" debate

NINA28

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to writing so decided to concentrate on the art before even thinking about attempting to publish, but I was reading a debate on another forum on how people get their foot through the door for the first time.
One person suggested watching the market and seeing what always seems to sell. Trends for that age group or genre that don't seem to go away. (Not sure what he meant by that and he never gave an example). Another lady said, that's an ineffective way of doing it because by the time your novel is written and to a publishing standard the market has moved on. But I can remember the paranormal romance rage going on for years during and after Twilight. Suddenly everyone was writing them, before it has been kids as wizarding school. This debate kept going on as to which method was more effective. Writing what was selling or what you thought might sell next or just hoping for the best.

So, do you write what's popular or write whatever and just hope for the best if you want writing to be more than just a hobby? How do you even navigate the market and find out what is “hot” in each genre? How do you start building a career?
Thanks for reading and answering.

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to writing so decided to concentrate on the art before even thinking about attempting to publish, but I was reading a debate on another forum on how people get their foot through the door for the first time.