• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Can First Person Present Tense Ever Be Subtle?

Prophecies

Registered
Reaction score
I'm writing a literary historical novel, and my writing right now (first draft blues) is not subtle. I write scenes that are 800-1200 words long (on average), and it feels like a stream of thoughts and loose philosophy. I've highlighted the unsubtle parts, and will reedit & rewrite on future drafts. But I don't know how to incorporate my big, philosophical ideas whilst not coming across as shouting at the reader.

The novel is written in first person present tense, and idk, my MC has cognitive dissonance with his moral choices, and when I write, I feel like I'm a teacher highlighting how wrong my MC is.

Any tips on incorporating subtlety in first person present tense is appreciated. Enjoy your weekend! :)

Lakey

professional dilettante
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure that subtlety and person/tense would have any inherent correlation. You could have a subtle first-person voice or a bombastic one. You could have a first-person narrative in which the themes are referenced obliquely, there for the reader to extract by interpreting the events that occur (or don't occur), but never explicitly stated in the narrative. Or, you could have a first-person narrative in which the narrator interrupts the narrative to deliver an explicit discourse on the theme.

In short, I wonder if what you're struggling with is not how to explore a theme subtly in first-person present tense, but how to explore a theme subtly in fiction, generally.

If not -- if you feel that you have mastery of subtle theme-building in other narrative person-tense combinations, maybe take a close look at what else is different about those narratives from your first-person one -- what else is different apart from the person and tense. Is it the voice you've chosen? Is it something else?

:e2coffee: