Fashion (or "Fashion") For Fun

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
I've been working from home for a couple of years now, so I'm already convinced of the old "get up and get dressed just like you were going to an office" thing. But there are some things that I've found particularly pleasant to have in my arsenal:

1) Nice socks. My step-daughter's partner gave me some alpaca socks for Christmas. I didn't try them right away - my skin generally dislikes wool, and I figured they'd just make me itch - but there was this one day when I hadn't done enough laundry, so I put them on. They were warm, soft, and lovely, and they didn't aggravate my sensitive skin at all. I bought two more pairs. Not cheap, but they're as warm as slippers, and you can throw them in the laundry with everything else.

2) Fun hair color. I've been home-coloring my hair for about 33 years, but because my hair is (was) naturally dark, I always used permanent. Enter Overtone, one of a bunch of companies making semi-permanent hair color. Their product also serves as a conditioner, which makes it fairly easy to apply, although there are caveats: 1) if your hair is long, you're going to want to take the time to distribute it evenly, at least the first few times; and 2) some of the colors are pretty potent, and you may want to wear gloves. (It'll wash off your hands, but for the Extreme colors, the reds in particular, it may take some time.)

I stopped using permanent hair color a couple of months ago. I'll let y'all know how Overtone copes with my increasing grays. :)

Are y'all doing anything fun at home? Dressing in a formal gown for your video calls? Wearing angler fish slippers that light up? What's been fun and uplifting for you?

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score