Brand New Writer

Pippie

Registered
Reaction score
Hi All,

I found an online course on writing mystery stories in early October. So, I’m now starting my third month of writing. I’m a retired mechanical engineer in the oil, gas and chemical industry. I’d written lots of technical stuff in my career, but I’d never ventured into fiction. I’m thoroughly enjoying this new hobby.

So far I’ve written lots of short mystery pieces, and a little fantasy fiction.

I’m not a particularly eclectic reader. I read mystery’s mostly, an occasional sci-fi/fantasy, and some science-based non-fiction.

Hobbies include astronomy (I own a 200 mm Schmidt-Cassegrain ‘scope), building robots and other electronic stuff, fly fishing, and now writing.

Apart from Absolute Write, I’m also a member of Silver Pen Writers, and have posted a total of four pieces to date.

Enlightened

Always Learning
Registered
Reaction score
Hello Pippie, :welcome:

Such diversity in your hobbies, that's great. Writing is a great addition.

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.

Stop by the Weekend Progress Report each week to brag about your weekly writing accomplishments.
Awesome smilies and awards are given out.

Please read the FAQ about posting photos.

In fact we have lots of brilliant FAQs check them out.

Members who want to start a thread in Share Your Work to have work critiqued need
50 posts. Don’t make a mad dash to reach your 50 posts. That is frowned upon and can lead to your posts being deleted.
Take some time to greet fellow newbies, critique other members’ works, or join a discussion.

Announcements, Events and Self Promotion is for active members only. All obvious spam will be deleted on sight!
Here’s how to Promote With Aplomb.