time commitment needed to freelance?

Scout

Registered
Reaction score
Newbie here. Looking to freelance as a side gig.

I work full time, and I am also writing a novel.

Before I do a deep dive, My question is for those who currently or have previously done freelance writing: what's the daily time commitment if I was looking to earn about $500 a month?
thanks in advance.

Enlightened

Always Learning
Registered
Reaction score
I know absolutely nothing of this venture, but here is some information to consider until someone comes along who can offer more....

1) What kind of freelance do you plan on doing; e.g. magazine or newspaper articles?

2) Because you noted you were a newbie, does that mean to writing or just freelancing?

3) Does the industry you want to write for allow freelance writing (e.g. video games), or is it worked into the job descriptions of other people on the team?

Your local public library (specifically their digital eBooks, but might have them in hard copy form too) might have wonderful titles on working freelance. After a quick search, I found these eBooks for offer at mine....

a) The Writer's Legal Guide: An Author's Guild Desk Reference (several chapters are germane to this endeavor).

b) The Essential Guide to Freelance Writing by Zachary Petit

Last edited:

mewellsmfu

Registered
Reaction score
Saying you want to write freelance as a side gig is the equivalent of me saying I've decided to make extra cash by singing. I sound like a moose with a toothache. I have no professional singing credentials or experience. And I lack contacts in the business. Why would anyone pay me $500 a month to sing?