Is writing a proposal in a year after first date too soon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SnugglePuggle

Banned
Reaction score
Hi all! I wasn't sure where to post this but anyhow here's my question. I am a paranormal romance writer, and I'm working on a currently planned 4 book series. I am in the middle of my 2nd one right now, and I want to have a proposal at the end, since the 3rd will be the wedding (among various plots which I won't get into right now). Anyhow, I had their dating life paced a bit slow in the first book, so I am a bit unsure as right now, they are nearing their 1st anniversary together in the second book. Is it too soon to propose?

My current thoughts were possibly along the lines of 1) the couple recreates their first date and the male MC proposes at the same place they had their first kiss, or 2) have a completely different anniversary celebration and have him propose in a different, unique kind of way.

So along with that, I'm pondering on if it's too soon to propose, but I don't have enough material down yet to know if I can spread the book out for another year of dating before a proposal (since the proposal will be the end of the book after they go through a certain, very hard trial of sorts).

Any thoughts you have on this matter I would appreciate! Thank you <3

LJD

Registered
Reaction score
No, that's perfectly fine.

Tons of romance novels have proposals before the one-year mark. Happens in real life, too.

Sonya Heaney

Registered
Reaction score
Plans definitely change as you write! Nobody but you can decide what’s right, but I do think that your plans follow a pretty well-accepted pattern for a PNR series. Relationships tend to move quite fast in the subgenre (and I know people in real life whose relationships moved faster than that!).

To be honest, a lot of readers won’t even notice your timeline. I’m really conscious of timelines in my books, but I think the only people other than me who notice them are my editors …