My Ode to Sissyphus.

Orklad

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I've been writing steadily for the past 15 years or so, possibly a bit longer, but only recently have decided to try to share my work with the general world, which means (so far) querying with agents.

Sixteen rejection letters later, I'm asking what in the world I was thinking.

it's worse than sending out job applications after getting laid off (which I've also done).

So, yeah. The process is awful and fills me with despair and existential dread.

How're you?

-D

Paul Lamb

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.paullamb.wordpress.com
Sixteen rejection letters isn't really a lot in this business. I read somewhere that if you get 100 rejections, then it's time to consider that your work is not really that good. But I'm not sure that is fair. If a query letter doesn't do justice to a well written novel, the work is still good but the letter needs work.

Take heart. I just got another rejection letter yesterday for one of my stories. And I know I've had more than 16 rejections for some of my pieces, but I'm afraid to look in my log to do the math.

Stytch

Registered
Reaction score
Welcome! Highly suggest you meander your way to 50 posts (don't rush!) and then put your query up for crits over at Query Letter Hell. Just pause on sending them out until you get some feedback. It's rough, but it's super helpful.

CameronJohnston

Great Old One
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cameronjohnston.net