• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Priorities

Ruby Road

Registered
Reaction score
Website
gheltebridle.wixsite.com
Hi humans, thinking about how to make my writing a priority in life.

I'm currently a college freshman, been writing for 3-4 years now, but not much to show for it because school was already too much for me. I've had a bit more time now though. I participated in a short story swap this fall and I've been working on some new ideas. I've just got past a huge mental block I had this summer after being frustrated with my WIP because I couldn't figure out what was going wrong with it. But I know how to fix it now. I've also been pantsing for a long time because the idea of a strict plan repelled me. But lately I've been making rough plots with room for deviations and that seems to work best.

I'm doing a lot of new stuff now and life has generally improved, which is good for creativity. But I'm having trouble figuring out how to make this a priority. Although I'm taking online classes for the first two years at my school (special program), I live on my own now and am active on campus. I have philosophy club weekly, fencing club three times a week, therapy, and in-person meetings with my professors. I also plan on getting a part-time job soon. I keep a journal to stay in practice, but sometimes it's difficult to find time for stories and bigger projects, especially with exams...

This is all really dumb. I know that it's my responsibility to make it a priority. But what I want to know is your story and how you learned to navigate the chaos.

Enlightened

Always Learning
Registered
Reaction score
Opportunity costs.

When I earned my degrees, I had a 5 year plan. I earned 4 degrees in that time. I had no life outside of studies. There are only 168 hours in a week and you need time to do mandatory stuff: clean; sleep; fix food and eat; bathe; school stuff.