• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Not sure what's going wrong with current WIP, help?

NINA28

Registered
Reaction score
Do you think it works out better to plan your character and their personal journey like character arc and then create a plot around it. Or do you think it's better to plan out your story and see what natural develops for the character. Because I'm having real problems getting this particular story flowing.

I've written short fiction before but this is my first attempt at a full novel so zero experience there, and I've just been struggling so much, even when trying to use steps provided by other writers on blogs and articles. I have the very beginning planned out and I'm happy but I can't seem to work anything out from this point and I'm not sure why. I don't know if it's lack of character goal, motivation, conflict or whether it's a plot problem.
I need some advice and I'm happy to give a brief synopsis of my introduction so far if needed. Something not working and I don't have the experience to know what it is.

Thank you

talktidy

Registered
Reaction score
I think this is a question that only you can answer after spending more time and effort to see what works for you best.

I am very plot orientated, and I like having an outline to work from, an outline, which seldom survives past my first few chapters, but that is a gripe for another time. I make extensive notes as I go, re upcoming plot points in the over arching plot arc, how I want a scene to pan out, what a character wants, how a character is going to reveal themselves to others, etc. This is what seems to work for me, but it obviously may not suit you.

If you are having problems in making headway, maybe it would serve you to consider a different or opposite approach from the one you are already employing.

Last edited:

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com