Sceptical about amazon self publishing - need experienced viewpoints please

firstofmany

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, Newbie here (thanks to lisa for sorting out registration issues)
I'm about to self publish my first 100+ a5 softback self help guide
I'm a creative person and run a number of businesses. i'm competant at book design, layout, website design, social media marketing and had the book read by a number of people who feel it is a strong book
the subject matter relates to one of my businesses

the book is a self help guidebook and unique in its market place, its a book that guides people who choose to present their own divorce cases in family courts agains lawyers. its based on my experience working in the uk court system but written so any litigants in person can benefit inany others counrties as it outlines key assessment skills and how to deal with lawyers. the book has the potential to really change how people go through divorces and gain better results so I want it to go far ideally

as someone keen to make as good a profit from my creative endevours and to set off on book 1 of many in the best possible way, i'm keen to get the views of others on getting into bed with amazon as i'm rather not be giving profits to them as a huge corporate, i feel bad when i buy books off them myself, but us lazy humans want what we want fast...must work on that

i will be writing other books too some on similar subject and some different so i want to set -off correctly

i'm someone personally who still will go for a physical book over ebook, but i also enjoy audiobooks

my market research so far is showing amazon taking a lot of profit on the physical print on demand side of things and an almost no profiit model on the audiobooks via audible

I'd be able to record the audiobook myself as well

currently i have a uk quote for 100 copies for £220 Binding: Paperback
Size: Slim Volume
Orientation: Portrait
Cover Weight: 250gsm
Cover Finish: Matte
Insides: Black And White