Hello fellow writers!

Lit.Lass

Registered
Reaction score
I am a writer. That goes without saying... I’m here hoping to connect to likeminded folk who I can turn to when I need support (instead of leaning on my non-writer SO).

I’m also excited to offer my own support in any way I can!

A few of the books I’ve read this year:

• Carmilla
  • Dracula
  • The Handmaid’s Tale
  • A Song of Ice and Fire (those volumes which are already published)
  • The Accursed Kings Series (all but the last volume which I DNF because it's weirdly terrible)
  • Holy Sh*t: A Brief History of Swearing
  • The Elephant in the Brain
  • Aegypt: The Solitudes
  • Atomic Habits
  • Deep Work
  • Wild Seed
  • The Southern Reach Trilogy

My non-writing hobbies:

• Knit/crochet
  • Bullet journaling (does this count as a hobby?)
  • Painting my nails

A little bit more about my writerly history:

I wrote a lot as a child and an adolescent but then—like a lot of people—got stuck.

For over a decade I wrote very little fiction. I’d occasionally get a bee in my bonnet and write 30-100 pages on a single project before abandoning it. It wouldn’t be fair to say I wasn’t writing at all in during this period. I just wasn’t writing fiction. I got a Literature degree, took a day job as a writer and ghostwriter (in a non-literary, corporate context), and eventually advanced to the position of editor (in the same corporate context).

Last year when I got the itch to start a paranormal novel. I committed to it and, somehow, I made it all the way to the end. I piggybacked on the momentum to start another project—a high fantasy novel—which I finished a draft of earlier this year.

I’m now rewriting the first project. I’m almost halfway through a second draft.