• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

When to start the story?

petuh112

Has no idea what's going on
Registered
Reaction score
I've heard the advice "You should start your book as far into the conflict as possible", both here and other places, especially in the Share your work section. I understand it to some extent, but oftentimes I feel that taking a moment to build world and character before jumping into the meat of the story can be helpful, especially in a science-fi/fantasy context. The more I think about it the less I am convinced, but I am extremely new at writing and don't really know what I'm doing. Is this a decent rule of thumb with a few exceptions? Is it good advice at all? Or is it more "There should be conflict immediately", even if the conflict is not the main one the story will be built around?

indianroads

Wherever I go, there I am.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
indianroads.net
IMO world building doesn't necessarily draw readers into the story, and too much (aka. core dump, information overload) can push them away.

You can mix in just enough world building to make the scene interesting and give context.

I've noticed that most tales have a tipping point - an instigating action that sets off a chain of events that makes up the story. Like dominoes falling. I suggest that you start there.

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
I think it depends on genre and your vision. If you start in the middle of a fight, we don't know who to root for or how to feel. I put books back on the shelves when they open like that.

I like being seduced into a story, not manhandled into one.

I read light science fiction, some fantasy, historical, and mystery.

lilyWhite

Love and Excitement
Registered
Reaction score