Craft versus art, craft into art, style and substance, rumination and entertainment

litdawg

Helping those who help themselves
Registered
Reaction score
I've been puttering around on these boards for a few months trying to learn more about the craft of fiction writing. I've read a dozen or so books on writing, investigated a few methods, and read countless articles online. And I've read scores of novels in the genres I'm writing. I've come to an impasse.

Much training is about how to write sentences from particular POVs, develop scenes to create tension, signpost character emotional arcs, and weave character arcs into plot arcs. But when I read well-constructed books that follow all these guidelines I can hardly remember the pages I've turned despite being interested in turning the next one.

All I have to do is read, and then the book is over. It's like a slide for my eyes. So much of the craft focuses on issues like smoothing seams between sections of the slide, making it clear where on the slide a reader is, and increasing the slope of the slide.

It's like the books are about nothing other than engaging the reader long enough to be read.

This is immensely different than my previous forty years of novel reading. Yes, I read lots of fantasy and sci fi as a child, but it really made me think--I devoured LOTR in 4th or 5th grade, everything Asimov in jr high, Heinlein, Le Guin, etc. I even read a lot of westerns in high school. But I also started reading the classics--Dickens, Joyce, Dostoevsky. For the next thirty years, I read everything from Gilgamesh to Kafka, from the San Guo (romance of the three kingdoms) to the Ramayana, Cooper, Hawthorne, Melville, James, Hemingway, Howells, Austen, Sedgwick, Tolstoy, Endo Shusaku, Morrison, Wharton, Baldwin . . . And not just read--I'm a literature professor, so I also studied, analyzed, and grew to love those works even more for their complex engagement with what it means to be human, to be alive.