I'm jumping a big hurdle and getting a comfort dog

The Second Moon

Registered
Reaction score
Website
mimistromauthor.com
All my life I've had extreme anxiety (selective mutism) and have never liked dogs, but since I'm going to be staying in a dorm next year, I figured I need to jump my dog-disliking hurdle and get a comfort dog.

I hope to get shih-poo, because I think it may be the right type of dog for me. (I knew someone who had one and it was really friendly and calm)

Anyways I just wanted to share and ask if anyone else has or knows someone with a comfort dog. I'm not really sure about where I can bring it, since I'm still learning about this whole comfort dog thing. Also does anyone here own a shih-poo (they go by other names, too, so looking up an image might help)? What are they like? I've done a ton of research, but I'd like to hear from someone with more experience with that breed than me.

I'm actually really excited about this. :snoopy:

Thanks for reading this and for cheering me on.

I'll keep posted on my progress with getting the dog if anyone is interested.

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
No experience at all, just a dog lover and excited for you!

I'm kind of surprised there aren't advisors or counselors that can connect you with the right type of dog to fit your lifestyle, preferences and needs. Is there such a service out there?

AW Admin

Administrator
Registered
Reaction score
You may need to check about having a dog in the dorm; it's generally not allowed.

If it's a licensed professionally trained and registered companion/working service dog (i.e. seeing eye dog) that's different, but even then you need to coordinate closely with the school and your R.A. and R.D. of the dorm.

Last edited:

Enlightened

Always Learning
Registered
Reaction score