Fellow PoC writers, do you need to be "authentic"?

mentacle

Registered
Reaction score
Just wondering if any other PoC writers were encountering the same issues. An editor friend of mine, also an aspiring writer and a PoC, mentioned that fellow (non-PoC) editors were always telling her to write about her "culture" "ethnicity" and "unique experiences." But she's obsessed with very different things in her writing- things decidedly not #ownvoices- and she says she's seen that happening to a lot of her PoC peers. I think I'm coming up against the same thing, though I'm a newbie, so I don't know if what she's saying is true or not. Then there is the proliferation of non-PoC's writing PoC cultures, or fantasy adaptations of said cultures. It kinda galls me that I'm pressured to do something that non-PoC authors get away with so easily.
TldR: Are my fellow PoC writers always told to address identity and "authentic" cultural experience in your narratives? Is this A Thing?

PostHuman

Registered
Reaction score
In my case I find it's so difficult to write any good story or novel tbh I'd be very happy even if it has nothing to do with my ethnicity. I have written some more relevant stuff in the past though and have a couple ideas floating around I will tackle in the future.

cool pop

It's Cool, Miss Pop if You're Nasty
Registered
Reaction score
This is one of the biggest reasons I am glad I self-publish now. Got tired of all the racist crap that went on in trade publishing. That BS you describe has been going on forever.

There are a lot of things white authors get away with or a pass on that POC authors don't. It's a lot of hypocrisy going on in the industry.

WE ARE NOT OUR COLOR! WE ARE PEOPLE! When will folks realize that???? We don't sit around just writing about our race or things that have to do with our heritage. Some people need to get out of their box and actually read some books from POC authors instead of telling us how to write them.